DRC Message

Trent Hunt 11-6-2018.jpg

ASHRAE is the world’s foremost technical society in the fields of Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration (HVAC&R).  ASHRAE’s worldwide membership identifies needs, supports research, and writes industry standards to improve the arts and sciences of the HVAC&R industry.  ASHRAE has local chapters all of the world that are organized into fifteen regions.  The thirteen chapters that make up our region, Region IX, have members representing all interests in the HVAC&R industry.  Members and Guests alike are invited to visit each chapter’s website, learn about the chapter, and attend relevant chapter meetings, seminars, and other related social activities.


Region IX covers a large area between the West Coast and the Great Plains of the United States.  Our region is larger than average and includes all or portions of the following 15 States: Utah, Colorado, Northeast Nevada, Idaho, New Mexico, West Texas, Wyoming, Montana, Western Iowa, Southwestern Minnesota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, and Western Missouri.


As a region, we have an excellent presence at the highest eschelons of the society including 1995-1996 Society President Richard Hayter, 2016-2017 Society President Tim Wentz, 2018-2019 Society President Sheila Hayter, and 2017-2019 Society Vice President Julia Keen.  We also have a very large presence in regards to Student Chapters with many ASHRAE Scholarships and Society Sponsored HVAC&R related competition winners every year.


As the Director and Regional Chair (or DRC) for Region IX, I was elected by the chapters to lead the region as well as represent them on the ASHRAE Society Board of Directors.  My term began on July 1, 2017 and ends on June 30, 2020.  I hope to see you at a chapter meeting soon.  Please join me in experiencing the passion and energy that the members of Region IX are known for.  It is a great place to share the ASHRAE experience and make lifelong friends.

Past DRC's - Region III
Predecessor to Region IX

John E Haines, 1956
A. B. Algren, 1957
Fred Janssen, 1958-1962

Past DRC's - Region IX

J. W. Thompson, 1963-1966
B. H. Spurlock, Jr., 1966-1969
R. R. Goodwin, Jr., 1969-1972
Robert D. Pagliasotti, 1972-1975
G. Bryan Drennan, 1975-1978
James L. Mutum, 1978-1981
Richard G. Supple, 1981-1984
Larry Staples, 1984-1987
Larry Jenkins, 1987-1990
Steve Ivesdal, 1990-1993
Bill Koperski, 1993-1996
Ken Clark, 1996-1999
Arden Davis, 1999-2002
Tim Wentz, 2002-2005
David Olson, 2005-2008
Rich Rose, 2008 - 2011
Richard Bowman, 2011 - 2014
Blake Ellis, 2014 - 2017

Trent Hunt, 2017 - Present